Nowadays the soaring traffic and accommodation issue are becoming major pain points due to the population explosion in the metropolitans. While some people believe that it could be tackled by relocating companies and employees to the rural areas, I disagree with this opinion because I believe that it would have adverse impact on other areas.

On the one hand, I agree that moving companies to countryside would mitigate the traffic and housing pressure in the urban center. If plants are largely relocated to the countryside, most of the workers would tend to rent or purchase the apartment near the companies in order to save time spend on daily transportation. It means that it would decrease the accommodation pressure in the center of the cities, which are already over-crowded. In addition, the traffic would be dispersed in wider regions if the companies are distributed out of the center.

However, I would doubt that this would not be as effective as they assert, and it might have harmful effects on environment and business benefits. Firstly, the public transportation network of the countryside, in most cities, might be extremely poor or even not be covered. It is not practical for people to rely on the public transportation daily. In this case, people might prefer to drive private cars to work , and it would unexpectedly impose a heavy burden on the road transportation and increase traffic fume pollution. Secondly, it might affect the business benefits of the companies. Some companies might rely on the regional clients and suppliers. In this case, relocation might lead to loss of customers and increase the cost of the product.

In conclusion, it seems that relocation would decrease the pressure in the city center, but in my opinion, it does not effectively solve the problem and might trigger other side effects.