Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over time, the idea of gender equality permeated many aspects of our lives. In my opinion, men and women should enjoy equal opportunities in education. However, I do not agree with the idea of having the same proportions of students in each gender in all universities.

It is fairly easy to understand why some people would support the idea since the university would appear to be an equal place if the number of male and female students were the same. Many rating agencies rank school based on gender equality as well as many other factors. Having the exact 1:1 male-to-female ratio would yield the highest rating on equality thus promoting the university’s rank. It can be argued that having a higher rank may bring certain benefits such as more funding from the government.

However, I strongly disagree with the idea of accepting equal proportions of students in each gender for many reasons. First, the practice is simply infeasible for many universities. Some universities attract more applicants from one gender than the other. For example, universities specialize in civil engineering or computer science generally receives more male applicants, perhaps due to the innate difference between men and women. Imposing the policy on such universities is impossible due to the lack of female candidates. Secondly, I believe universities should select candidates strictly based on merits and not sex. If a male is the best candidate for the university, then it is wrong to accept a female who has lower grades and fewer qualifications.

In conclusion, to a certain extent, I can understand the intention of forcing universities accepting equal students from both genders, but I firmly disagree with the proposal due to fairness and practical concerns