We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that our abilities are limited and we should only help those who live in the vicinity. In my opinion, I can relate to the argument of only taking care of our communities, but I believe we should help those in other countries as well.

On the one hand, I understand that it is important to help residents in our communities. In every neighborhood, we can find people that are impoverished or disadvantaged. It is possible to find homeless people, for example, even in the wealthiest districts, and for people who are concerned, there are opportunities to volunteer time or donate money to support them. As the problems are on our doorstep and there are obvious ways to help them, it is easy to understand why we should prioritize on local charity

On the other hand, we should extend our help beyond national borders for many reasons. First, it is morally wrong to turn a blind eye on others’ suffering simply because they live far away from us. I believe the feeling of compassion is the common emotion for all human. Second, every national is connected in this era of globalization. The tragedy that falls in other countries will likely affect the lives of many domestic residents. For example, the refugees who escaped into the European Union are causing lots of social unrest. Had the world worked together to bring peace in the middle east, then EU members would not need to worry about the refugee problem. Lastly, there are many channels which the public can utilize to help other countries. With the internet, citizens can donate money to under-developed countries with a click of the mouse. The geological distance is not an excuse for us to turn our back to the suffering citizens overseas.

In conclusion, it is reasonable to prioritize on helping the local community, however, we should also give our hands to other nations whenever we can.