The urban transport system receives more funds compared to the rural transport system. Why do you think it is so? How can it be solved?

The budget allocation for urban versus rural transport systems is debatable. This essay will discuss the few convincing reasons why the urban transport system is receiving more budget than rural and put forward several solutions to solve this problem.

To start with, there are several reasons why a huge budget is being allocated to urban transportation than rural. The prime reason is that urban cities often have large portion of the population compared to rural areas as people usually come to the metropolitan cities to find employment from different parts of the country; therefore, urban transport requires a hefty budget to facilitate them by increasing number of buses, and expanding metro lanes to avoid traffic conjunction in the city so, the people could commute without hassle, and reach to their destination well on time. A final reason is the influx of foreign tourists in the megacity; therefore, the metropolitan transport department requires a large portion of the funds in a bid to provide them up to the mark public transport facilities. It is generally believed, for example, that such development in the urban area would help the country to attract more tourists to generate revenue, and contribute to a country’s GDP rate.

On the other hand, there are various solutions available to tackle this unfair treatment towards the urban transportation system. Firstly, the government should take initiative, and give subsidies to the employers to establish their industries in the rural area, so the influx of people could be diverted from urban cities to find employment out there. This will give reason to the rural transportation department to negotiate their case while receiving a budget for rural areas as they would have to provide transport service to the people coming from outside for employment. Secondly, it is highly recommended that the visitors coming from abroad should be encouraged to visit the countryside. The flow of tourists would make the rural transport system’s case strong to demand an equal share of funds to develop the public transport facilities for them. Besides, the connectivity between both urban and rural areas would easy to generate an equal amount of revenue between them.

In conclusion, I am of the view that a balanced allocation of funds is crucial to the development of both urban and rural transport systems, so the government to give equal importance in this regard.