The use of mobile phones in public places is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places, so mobile phones should be banned in the same way. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Increasing use mobile phones in public places has been credited to as asocial as smoking, so people argue about banning it at certain places. While I completely refute this notion as it not as objectionable offence as smoking, I believe that it should be banned in certain areas.

In my opinion, it should not be weighed in equivalent to smoking in terms of its unacceptability at public places. In the first place, while it has certain impacts on an individual, it is profoundly used and does not violate other’s privacy or health, unlike smoking. Secondly, people do not prefer to converse with strangers in public, rather, they surf the internet, talk or chat with their loved ones, when free. For instance, while waiting for a bus, people are often found using social media. For these reasons, I believe that mobile use in public cannot be termed antisocial like smoking.

While I support the use of these gadgets at public places, I feel their use should be barred in some places. People need to understand that its free use must be limited at certain areas where it is either mandated by the government or at some key sensitive areas such as road traffic or at hospitals and so on. The reason is that, these areas require decorum or secrecy, for maintaining fair practices, which is easily violated by public which results in accidents or violation of rules. In such cases, the barring of use of these gadgets is entirely justified.

In conclusion, I believe that although the usage of mobile phone publically is not offensive, but its use must be limited at certain places.