Using a computer ever day can have more negative than positive effects on young children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that children spending a lot of their time each day on computers will have more detrimental effects than having constructive impacts. I strongly agree with this statement, the following paragraphs will discuss the ramifications of using too much computer, which will be followed by a reasoned conclusion.

Children while using computers utilize most of their time by playing video games, and it is not just video games but they usually like to play violent video games. Moreover, in this kind of games, the player which is a child performs all killings just to complete a particular mission. Such games have very severe consequences on the mind of children. They lose emotions and feelings of people and become very rigid. Furthermore, the aftermaths of these games are not just limited to it, but it also is the principal cause of decline in the students’ performance in exam. For instance, a research was concluded by the students of Stanford University in 2012, the research was also published in New York times later, it says that more than 70% of children who do not perform well, spend more than 3 hours daily playing video games.

Excessive use of computers also affects the health of children, sitting in front of computer all day long means less physical activity which will cause common health diseases; for example, obesity, eyesight weakness, and headache. Physical activity like playing cricket and football are also imperative for healthy life, but children do not understand the importance of it and they prefer to play games and use internet all day is enough for their learning and enjoyment. For example, an article was published in the Washington Posts about health in which it was stated that 80% of people who wear eyesight glasses are those who spend four to five hours daily in front of their computers.

In conclusion, it can be inferred that computers no doubt is one of the blessings of science but its excessive use has more harmful effects on the life of our children.