Violence in the media promotes violence in society.

To what extent do you agree?

There is a belief that media encourages members of society to act abnormally by reporting acts of atrocity. In this essay, I disagrees with their point of view.

Let us start with the reasons why some social workers claim that the act of cruelty on TV trigger atrocity in reality. The first argument is that it encourages some people commit the same crime to gain popularity. Criminals often receive publicity upon apprehension, so some of the news followers want to gain fame by perpetrating a similar crime. Another reason that violence in mass media may mislead immature minds about the world. Young people may express themselves violently, once this kind of publication encourages them by immoral pictures. Furthermore, it frequently motives more people carry protection means. People, for example, in Kazakhstan tend to use guns as self-defence, which also increase crime rate.

However, some media presenters believe that reported act of cruelty has positive effects on society for the following reasons. First of all, it makes people aware of criminals. For example, newspapers often show pictures of former sex-offenders with description to notify people of their atrocious behavior. Secondly, media warns people of the consequences of breaking law. People are often unaware of possible implications if they decide to assault others, but with TV programs can deter them from their illegal intention. Finally, broadcasting both violence and subsequent apprehension usually persuades citizens that police officers work. People often blame the police force for their inaction; however, documentaries about various crimes with arrest may change their opinion about policemen.

In conclusion, even though sociologists argue that cruelty highlighted on mass media exacerbates brutal conduct in public, I am opposeto their opinion and think that such highlights discourages anti-social actions.