Although more and more people read news on the internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial issue about the role of newspapers in society. Some social workers state that, despite the widespread use of the web, newspapers keep their status as the main source of information. In this essay, I disagree with their point of view.

Let us start with the reasons why some civil servants consider newspapers as the major depository of news. The first reasons is that newspapers are independent on the Internet connection. Internet connection is not always available in remote areas, but, in contrast, newspapers are almost available everywhere, which gives it more importance. Another cause is that newspapers are more reliable then any other sources. Many news feeds in the web communicate the unauthorized coverage of events, whereas papers are double checked by authorities before publication. Furthermore, news editions normally publish fresh coverage of events. Newspapers bring what is happening in the region to the public, before Internet analogies do, since they have their own teams of journalists, who generally report the event as soon as possible.

However, some cyber users state newspapers are no longer the most valuable means of social information. They justify their point of view with the following arguments. Firstly, the number of people reading news online is growing. Most people prefer to follow the news by reading verified news feeds, because they can open them at any time on the smartphone. Secondly, many news editions release new issues weekly. Many people cannot wait for new release of newspapers so long, so they resort to news websites, which cover incidents in the globe hourly. Moreover, newspapers tend to be sold out. Many people complain that they are often unable to purchase newspaper issues at newsstands, as they are late, but with the help of Internet, they can always satisfy their needs in news with no delay.

In conclusion, even though many officials believe that newspapers are still the most popular source of news, I think that online versions are slowly outstripping in popularity.