Should the government provide people with free accommodation?

The issue of accommodation is so acute that a growing number of people are struggling to rent or save money. This leads one to wonder whether governments should supply them with housing. This essay opposes this point of view and gives an explanation.

The first reason is that this initiative may trigger an outburst in population growth. It is scientifically proven that the number of population is directly dependent on the availability of housing. Thus, by securing young families with free housing, the country would face an uncontrolled increase in the population size, which would lead to a shortage of resources and inevitable collapse in the economy.

Another reason why governments should not provide people with free places to live in is that people would be less motivated to work. Many people get employed to save up for buying a house in the future, but the housing supple by the government would gradually exempt them from going to work. This exemption would eventually have an adverse impact on the economic development, resulting in economic crisis and people having to go to work again.

However, some sociologists think that securing people with free housing is necessary. They say that it would help many families, which do not have houses, to settle down in one place. Despite this, providing housing is an unreasonable campaign since the construction would hardly keep pace with a growing population. Even if the government could do it, they would constantly face an acute shortage of building materials during construction, leading to long-term delays.

In conclusion, the idea of providing people free housing is irrational because it would lead to serious economical and social problems.