Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficien.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

It is quite difficult to choose the right penalty for breaking an order. Some politicians state that the government should adopt the legal system with fixed punishment. This essay will consider both pros and cons of this penalisation.

Let us start with the positive effects of fixed punishment. To begin with, criminals will receive the same punishment for a certain crime. All people, regardless of the circumstances, will be punished equally, if they commit, for example, a pickpocketing. Another benefit is that there is no need for trial. Verification of evidence is an unnecessary step in the judgement, since the accused will immediately be found guilty and get penalty. Furthermore, it saves money on judges, juries and lawyers. Public authority can dismiss all the participants of court, which means that it will be pointless to pay them salaries, which will have a positive effect on the budget.

Despite the above mentioned merits, this type of judicial body has a few demerits. Firstly, It is unfair to criminals, who perpetrate a crime under special circumstances. Some offenders break a law because of being driven either poverty or self-defense, so it will be unjust to punish them as strictly as serious felons. Secondly, many innocent citizens will be found guilty. Since there is no justice investigation, most sinless people will serve their sentences in prison, before the police find either the true criminal or any proof of innocence. Moreover, the judiciary will be inconsistent with the global standards. The country will have problems with accused from other countries, as the justice system in their home country may demand for trial with judges and lawyers ahead of penalizing according to the local judicial authority.

In conclusion, although inflexible sentence has a great deal of positive sides, it also causes many problems for the government.