Water is in short supply in many countries of the world, but consumption of water by families is increasing. Why is this happening? What can be done to preserve water?

There is no doubt that many countries are short on water; however, some people believe that despite this shortage, the average usage of water for household purposes has increased. In this essay I will discuss the causes of this increase, and how we can maintain it.

In recent years, the population has increased exponentially, but the patterns of water consumption have not changed in families. There are several chores which need water at home, all of them under the category of hygiene. Taking baths, washing dishes and clothes are among these chores which consume a lot of water. The problem is that people have not changed how they used to do these tasks, in order to preserve water. In other words, they still take hour long baths every day, or wash their dishes under running water. To put simply, nobody realizes the importance of water, because it has always been there.

I believe the most important thing to consider about this issue, is educating people about water, and its preservation methods through TV and social media. Take cleaning dishes as example, instead of washing them under running water, one can fill the sink with water and wash them inside that. It has been shown that this simple change can reduce waste by 40 percent; however, most of the people don't practice it simply because they do not know anything about it.

To summarize, I believe that the water problem has caused by increase in population and the fact that new generations are not taught both the significance of water, and the methods of preserving it. Hence, we need to educate them and the role of mass media is undeniably important for that.