What are the advantages and disadvantages of leaving your country to live or study abroad

Student and worker mobility has been on the rise owing to globalization and there have been accompanying merits and demerits with this trend. Some of the significant benefits such as better exposure to a broader job market which pays dividends at a later point of time and enhancing the social skills cease to exist; however, financing immigration and being subjected to discrimination in those places are some of the constructive drawbacks one might endure during such endeavours.

To begin with, residents, of late, are much conscious of the surplus amount of better employment and education prospects and this lures people to make their move to such locations to have a flourished career. Firstly, they acquire the necessary skills while residing in those developed nations and this overwhelmingly benefits them on a longer run. Secondly, during this drive, immigrants are being subjected to people from different parts of the world, culture and religion and this aids in acquiring better social skills which helps them lifelong. Hence, a blend of all contributes to considerable and constructive merits. Canadian Permanent Residency and Education programmes, for instance, welcomes prospective applications be it to study or emigrate from around the globe and this has proven to the world to be one of the most successful programmes, where people are able to integrate with almost no difficulties and prosper well.

On the contrary, there are some significant downsides that cannot be ignored. Most immigrants during such occasions face discrimination on the basis of their colour, nationality and financial standard. In the US, for example, in the year 2019 alone, there have been a plethora of gun-related mortalities such as shootings, where the armed personnel targets immigrants mainly from South Asia owing to strong aversion by local residents on these economically challenged immigrants. Furthermore, the sky-high budget involved in making a long-term move outside the home nation to developed destinations adds insult to the injury. It is estimated that an average immigrant, especially from South Asia, has to spend around 15000 US dollars from scratch until reaching the destination which wreaks havoc financially to those families.

To sum up, as awareness about moving to financially developed nations from economically weak countries among individuals is rampant, a prodigious amount of undergraduates and working professionals consider flocking to such wealthy nations and after immigrating, they infuse into them all the necessary soft skills, better work ethics and better standard of education. On the other hand, impending drawbacks such as increased risks of being discriminated and harassed and costing travellers an arm and a leg cannot be ignored.