What are the advantages and disadvantages of using CCTV cameras to fight crime?

Global crime has increased drastically these days. However, the development of technology played a crucial role in mitigating such a serious issue. one of the most viable examples of the latest technology is installing surveillance cameras in public areas. this action indeed, has some positive and negative impact on people. this essay aims to explore the pros and cons of utilizing such contentious technologies before coming to conclusion.

First of all, there is no doubt that CCTV provides a feeling of safety and security for people who are using such technology. For instance, lots of individuals prefer to live in buildings that have security cameras, which made them more secured about their children, cars and all other belongs against criminals and thefts. Second of all, it's irrefutable that surveillance cameras lessen the crime level in a plethora of places. since, burglars and robbers think twice at least before doing any kind of illegal activities in areas where CCTVs have existed. The crime rate in Dubai for example considered one of the lowest level among other nations due to such a great security cameras network throughout the city. Thus, criminals know that will be viewed and monitored if they do anything illegal. Finally, cctv enables the gathering accurate information and evidence. A plethora of nations especially in advance countries rely on surveillance cameras for investigations, as such cameras provide extremely precise data and footage about the kind of crime, and the date and time. Moreover, they might help to find the locations of some dangerous gangs or terrorists.

In contrast, CCTV also has some disadvantages for people. To begin with, a lack of privacy for an individual’s life. To illustrate, many people concur that installing security cameras in public areas might destroy their private life. Furthermore, installing CCTV in workplaces might give a sense of poor trust for staff and exacerbate their job experience. As, it lets them think that they are under a direct scope from their employers, so they feel uncomfortable with that. Then, there is the very high cost of the installation. As, it's not a regular camera, it's indeed a very sophisticated one, which connects with complicated severs and works under different conditions. Therefore, it's irrefutable too expensive and unaffordable for some small shops and firms to have it. last but not least, CCTV will never stop any crime to happen. since it's a camera which only detect and record people's actions, but will never stop a crime, as it cannot be connected directly to the police like an alarm.

To sum up, crime has conspicuously raised in last few years. however, installing cctv like any technology has a positive and negative side on minimizing the crime level in any community.