What should a government do for a country to become successful?

All around the globe, nations are striving for success; hence, a reliable government is becoming increasingly inevitable for the progress of a democratic nation. Though, there are other forces such as media and business responsible for shaping a nation, involvement of government through effective management, realistic goal setting and strategic planning and implementation is vital for the success of a republic.

To begin with, efficient management of a country includes making rational decisions that are beneficial for its citizenry. For example, appropriate utilization of its natural resources, labour force and finances along with the up keep of law and order. Skilled use of natural resources can bring economical benefits, which can be used to provide basic amenities like free primary and secondary education and heath care facilities. Similarly, apt use of human resource, by equipping them with proper knowledge and skills, can promote growth of a nation. Established law and order can prevent crimes. For example, if there is no appropriate law and order, increased crime rates can ruin the peaceful life of its citizen.

The second aspect to consider is the realistic goal setting, where regional and central administration should set up goals that can be achieved in real time such as eradication of illiteracy, prevention of child death, population control and eradication of poverty. This can be realised through creating awareness among general mass and establishing required facilities.

Another issue of great relevance is the strategic planning along with implementation of formulated plans. For example, if a nation comes up with innovative plans, but fails to act based on it, then all the effort put into it will be futile. It will be a waste of time, energy and resource, which otherwise would have been useful for fruitful projects.

In conclusion, for a country to be successful, an efficient government is essential because of the power it wields among people, but an inefficient, lethargic government will be ineffective in creating a successful nation. Government can exert its influence in the management, goal orientation, proper planning and implementation of derived plans. Thus, a successful nation depends on the performance of its government.