A building is supposed to meet a wide variety of requirements. It has been suggested that the most important consideration while designing a building is its practical utility rather than the external appearance. I mostly agree with this view.

Admittedly, an attractive building will entice many that would be a centre of attraction. This appeal may encourage people to visit it, which in turn promote tourism. For example, the archaeologically and aesthetically impressive construction Red Fort, in New Delhi, with their bright and colourful designs attract thousands of tourists, both foreign and the domestic.

However, a building should serve the primary purpose of its construction. If the construction is meant for a dwelling purpose, the rooms should possibly be spacious and adequately ventilated and are expected to meet all the household requirements. These amenities can make the life in the house more convenient and comfortable, and in case it is a business establishment it is expected to have other facilities such as a parking area, fire and safety and lift and so on.

Besides, the building should be strong enough to withstand any natural calamities. Some buildings in Mumbai, for instance, constructed with elegant appearance, but without the strong foundation collapsed during a minor earthquake. As a result, many valuable lives were sacrificed, and lots of resources were wasted. Therefore, more than the outward appearance, the physical strength of a building should be yet another crucial consideration before any construction is made.

To summarise, there are many factors to be considered while constructing a building, the most vital purpose of which is to satisfy the requirements of what it is meant for such as convenience and safety. Authorities should permit the construction of a building only if these prerequisites are satisfied.