Whoever controls the media also controls opinions and attitudes of the people and there is little can be done to rectify this

It has been argued that the media controls the views and perception of society entirely and practically nothing can be done on it. Even though media exerts a crucial role in opinion mobilisation, I do not think that their influence is final and ultimate.

Admittedly, the media play a significant role in the opinion formation of the present society. That is, people obtain the latest news from around the world through media, both the electronic and the print. In many cases instead of providing factual and truthful information, media fabricate stories to meet their vested business interest. For instance, visual media in Kerala create some sensational news each day in order to increase their rating and people are under the vile influence of this media aggression. Therefore, many people get misguided by these types of sensational news tailored to suit the business interest of the media.

However, the influence of media on people cannot be considered as of a fatalistic character. If the majority of the people approach a problem in a certain way, the media will be forced to disseminate news and views reflecting the real sentiment of the people. Otherwise, such media will be boycotted and it would negatively affect their credibility and eventually the business too. For example, notwithstanding the unconditional support of the media, Hilary Clinton could not win the American presidential election, as the sentiment and mood of the people were against the ruling party.

By way of conclusion, even though media play a vital role in forming the opinion of the people, it is unlikely that people would consider it as conclusive or final. If the news and views publicized through these media do not represent the people's genuine and real wish, people will discard such pieces of information outright.