While some companies believe that by offering discounted memberships to fitness clubs and gym, employees would be healthy and more productive at work, others do not agree. On analyzing the pros and cons of both sides , it is evident that there is no impact on productivity.

Nowadays, many employers provide staff discounts to fitness centers in the hope that utilization of these facilities will result in better work and health. People are becoming more health conscious and are willing to put in extra effort to achieve their desired result. Exercising not only helps to be fit, it also aids in relieving stress which is often associated with work. Without stress, it is much easier to be more focused and effective at work which is what organizations are striving for.

In contrast, some organizations argue that providing these subsidies will not lead to any tangible benefits. Their argument is because of two main reasons. First, not everyone is interested in going to gyms or indulge in physical fitness. Indeed,a lot of employees prefer to engage in walking or cycling which they can do at their own pace. Second, they claim that exercising in fitness clubs does not necessarily lead to improved productivity. A recent Harvard survey conducted among 10000 employees and their employers revealed that only 36% of those surveyed used company memberships and out of those 36%, 62% did not have any tangible impact on their productivity .

In conclusion, providing subsidized membership benefits to staff does not guarantee improved fitness or better health as only few employees avail it and even fewer show expected results.