In many cities more people are living alone.

Why is this the case

Is this a positive or negative development

A trend that has recently caught the fancy of majority of the urban generation is to live alone. Need for privacy and their own personal space is the prime reason people prefer to stay alone. While it might seem attractive initially, it is detrimental to one’s health and mind in the long run.

A majority of people living in cities value privacy and personal space above all other factors. This has led them to live alone. Living alone certainly has its own perks – people are no longer accountable or answerable to anyone. In short, they are their own master. They can maintain their house however they want – in their own style , come and go anytime, relax and read a book or watch TV – whatever suits their mood. While these might seem trivial, it is exactly these small things that add up and eventually leads to frustration and causes friction when living with other people – be it with family or friends. Living alone perfectly satisfies their needs.

While the benefits of living alone cannot be overlooked, it definitely is not healthy for the mind. When they are young, people prefer to live alone but when they get old, they crave for company as they feel lonely. Privacy no longer matters to them as they have all the time in the world but no one to share their it with. Staying with family or friends is best to combat loneliness. Sharing the little things in life – be it happiness or sadness always unburdens the mind. Living alone, their mind starts playing tricks on them as they start questioning themselves, their value in life, sadly leading depression and other related illness. Loneliness is the number one reason for depression.

In conclusion, while it might seem tempting to live alone, over a period of time, it is bound to affect one’s mindset. Nothing beats having someone to share your life with and giving up a bit of privacy is a small price worth paying for.