While studying abroad provides on opportunity to broaden one's experience , it also presents the danger of negative influences.

Studying abroad is the flavour of the present era. Educational institutions receive international students from many countries. In my opinion, concerns of adverse effects of local culture on international students do not hold ground.

Students go abroad with a vision to study and acquire better quality education. Many times, they have to pay a very high fee which is very difficult for them or their parents to manage. This brings about a sense of sincerity in them and negative influences are warded off. Next, staying in a foreign country makes students more tolerant towards the host culture and this, in turn, enhances their understanding of different cultures. Consequently, they become even more aware of good and bad in both cultures and can thereby become better world citizens.

Thirdly, students often stay in close touch with their families back home by way of internet, telephones etc. What is more, they also become friends with the students of their country. All these factors ensure that they do not forget their goals and they do not go off track.

However, some people argue that the countries where international students go may have a free and bold culture. They assert that when a student from a conservative culture goes to a country where the level of freedom is very high, he or she is likely to come under negative influences of host culture. There is a possibility of there being one or two who do get misled but this cannot be taken to describe a general pattern.

In conclusion, I opine that the international students come in close contact with the foreign culture and they do adopt useful aspects of it. However, most of them do not come under any kind of negative influence from the host culture.