Write about the following topic:
In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?
What solutions can you suggest?
Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.
You should write at least 250 words.
Globally it is being reported that young children do not keep abrest of developments that are of national and international importance.
This is either by the way of newspapers and the television. Statistics from reputed organisations like the World Information forum and
the United Nations for Children's development have revealed that this trend is declining alarmingly by 17% year or year.
In this essay I will present the chronic reasons for this decline and recommend ways to stem this tide.After doing a survey of young teens
in my locality, the feed back I have received is that the news events being dicussed and how it is being presented and communicated is very
difficult to understand. This is in both the print and television media. For example,the government of the day decided to to ban imports of Chinese
products into the country. The reasons given were economic in nature, that effected small and medium sized enterprises,impacted exports and a drop in foreign
exchange reserves. Another situation these young minds described was too much of focus on religious differences, animosity between poitical parties.
In order to develop an interest and to improve the readership of newspapers and or to follow the news on TV, I am lead to believe that the
following should be considered for implementation. Government and private channels should have dedicated programs for young audiences to
particiate and debate on local and national topics. It should cover various subjects such as sport, politics, history,healthy living and community harmony.
At schools and colleges, there should be projects given to students to discuss, comment and write essays on national and international events.
Parents should also allocate some time a day to read and discuss topics of interest with their children. By taking these actions I am sure it will once again
lead to young children to once again develop an interest in the news.
To conclude all is not lost, by taking a few logical initiatives we will stem the tide. Together we can do this. We all play a part,
either in goverment, media houses, educatonal institutions and as parents.