Write about the following topic:

In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words

News displayed on television and newspapers are followed by many people. However, young people have not cultivated this habit of keeping themselves up-to-date with the current affairs of the world. One can try to make simple alterations to attract the young minds so that they can read or watch news.

Firstly, in an era of technological disruption, the youth do not have the time to read newspaper booklets which consists of about twenty to twenty five pages. The words displayed on it are too small which makes most of them difficult to read. Secondly, the news that is broadcasted on television or advertised in newspapers are crime related information. Because the younger generations are more artistic, they find such news quite dull and boring. For instance, Indian news channels only advertise news related to rape cases, murder or politics. Such information are repetitive thereby leading the young people to lose interest in watching news.

By following few changes, the youth can develop an interest in watching and reading news. Newspapers can advertise news in an artistic way in order to grab their attention. For example, young people prefer watching memes and cartoons. Therefore, the editors can design the newspapers and display pictorial news with keywords and less information. This not only saves the time of young people but also allow them to develop an interest in current affairs. Furthermore, television channels should broadcast news of multiple genres other than crime and politics. News related to science, inventions and entertainment mainly interest the young minds.

To conclude, the youth hardly prefer watching or reading news which are lengthy, time consuming and repetitive. Instead, news should become more short and picturesque with variety of topics to draw their eye towards the papers and news channels.