Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children.
To what extent do you agree?
Globally it is widely being suggested that extensive media coverage of celebrities is negatively influencing children's minds and their outlook towards life.
Pre teenage years up until their late teens is a time where attitude and perception can make a lasting impression.
This can be detrimental in their journey of life. With this in mind, I largely agree to the topic's view that media houses have a negative effect on children.
This essay will discuss the negative aspects of media coverage on celebrities.
For example 2 events were covered live by two reputed media houses last week. They showcased the unruly and rowdy behaviour
of a prominent football player from the Indian premier league.The player in question used his influence and clout to barge
into a restaurant even though it was full. He behaved as if it was his right to gain access since he was a super star.
Another recent example was of a popular Indian film star who was boasting on television that he organised a hunting expedition
in a protected forest for endangered deers.This celebrity even had the gaul and gumption to declare that he shot a deer.
These acts do not bode well and will affect the thinking of young children. They may well tend to believe that they too can
get away with anything without any scant regard of the law.
To conclude yes it is unfortunate that overall media coverage does have a negative effect on children.
However, all is not lost as there are a few responsible media houses who report largely on celebrities who behave and use their fame and fortune wisely.
Media houses must have internal policies that are focused on promoting positive deeds of celebrities that showcase positivity and good human values.
which hopefully will translate into a positive impact on children's minds.