Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children.

To what extent do you agree?

You should write at least 250 words.

The use of television as a means of entertainment has increased tremendously during recent times. To captivate and entice their audience, news channels often telecast the happenings both good and bad in the lives of famous people like Hollywood actors, politicians etc. who are loved by the common people. This has a tremendous impact on the minds of children especially the youth who look up to the celebrities as role models. This essay agrees with the statement that media coverage of famous people does have an impact on children. This essay will first look at the negative impact on lifestyle and then discuss the negative impact on behaviour.

People who are famous have a lavish lifestyle. They have the means and ability to purchase items at exorbitant prices irrespective of the need for that item. When young children whose minds can be easily influenced, witness such things, there is an innate desire created to emulate the lifestyle of the celebrity. Children of course do not have the means to acquire these white goods and hence resort to all kinds of unethical methods to increase affordability. The resultant effect- increase in crime rates. The Daily Times recently reported that of all petty thefts committed during the time frame of a year, 52% were committed by children. Further analysis revealed that 60% of these kids were from well- established families and the reason for the theft was to own an item which they could not afford.

The behavioural aspects of celebrities also has an adverse impact on children. The recent broadcast of the death of celebrity Sushant Singh due to drug abuse has sparked a controversy. Many children on Facebook and twitter have commented that it is ok to consume drugs in reasonable amounts but an overdose in unacceptable. When an opinion poll was taken most of these kids said they were willing to try drugs as Sushant was their role model and they would like to emulate him. It is sad that children today would rather chose to emulate bad habits/behaviours rather than the good ones.

In conclusion, I believe news/television channels should censor some of the lifestyle aspects of celebrities so as to reduce the negative impact on children.