Write about the following topic:

In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Gone are the days when people used to wake up in the wee hours of the morning looking forward to read the newspaper.

Technology has taken the world by storm and people have lost the patience to read newspapers. This essay will discuss some of the causes which have resulted in reduction in the readership of newspapers amongst youngsters and will also suggest some viable solutions.

The principal problem with lack of interest in the younger generation is the school curriculum. The existing education system does not place emphasis on reading. As a result, in the growing years of a child, reading takes a back seat. When I was in school, we had a subject called 'General Knowledge' which forced us to read the newspaper everyday as the examination was based on current affairs captured in leading newspapers. Another reasons which has contributed to lack of interest in reading is the advancement in technology. So many varieties of entertainment options are available that youngsters get immersed in these, leaving no time for reading.These forms of entertainment are more interesting and engaging than news. Let’s take the example of a video game, the hand eye coordination is so quick that youngsters get mesmerised in the game and just cant get themselves to watch something like the news that moves at a steady pace.

A solution to the worrying problem is for Education Boards to discuss and deliberate over the importance of reading and accordingly amend the existing curriculum with focus on reading for Primary as well as Secondary schoolchildren. One of the factors for grading children should be their ability to present current affairs and answer questions based on this. Re-introducing 'General knowledge' as a subject would be a good move in this direction. Social media organisations too can help by putting in news feeds through their channels. For example Facebook and Twitter can have news pop-ups, on topics of interest, while people are browsing through depending on their browsing history.

In summary, the step in the right direction by Education Boards, as well as social media can go a long way to enhance peoples interest in reading and follow the news on television.