Write about the following topic:

•The television is good for you.

•Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of watching television.

In this contemporary era television has become a vast source of media. Even though there are myriads of merits of watching television, some critical demerits are also associated with it.

The bright side of television includes uncountable numbers of benefits. Firstly, television brings entertainment at home. The technology has grown enough that not only movies and series are telecast on television but also live sports can be watched through it. This live-action is independent to the distance how far the game is being played. For instance, football match being held in the UK can be watched in India in the realtime. Secondly, television is a vital instrument which can keep people up-to-date through proffering the news across the globe. For instance, lots of domestic and international news channels are available on television with affordable price of network subscription to any individual. Watching those news channels, one can remain aligned with different stories of the word. Lastly, television is also a rich source of education. Nowadays, government is promoting various informative programmes, to be aired through this media, providing versatile knowledge of different areas such as cultures, science, and environments.

Watching television also accompanies with some sorts of disadvantages. These include the explicit content is available to children. This means some programmes on television are adult rated and children can view those while they left home-alone. Such contents having vulgarity of language, fierceful scenes and porn images, could affect young minds detrimentally. In addition, increased habbit of watching movie leads to nostalgia as well as impared visions. To illustrate, visual rays emitting from the television has been proved to be causing eye disorders in children and adults. Also, lots of popular shows of television abolish the interest of people to explore the outdoor activities and make them home-sick.

To summarise, viewing television has key advantages of entertainment, global media coverage and education. While disadvantage of it involves detrimental effects of television on people while watching television overly and being exposed to explicit contents.