You have had a class discussion on space exploration. Now your teacher has asked you to write a composition answering the following question:

Should governments spend so much money on space exploration when there are problems on Earth that need to be solved?

Allocation of the federal budget is an extremely intricate process. The decision of the amount to spend over certain part of governance is

a tough decision as it involves taxpayer's money. Many countries allocate a big chunk of their budget for the space exploration and that has been criticised by a large part of population who consider it to be a waste of money. In my opinion, the government should increase the expenditure on space projects and in this essay, I succinctly describe some of the issues that were discovered by space missions and how solving them helped people.

The satellites, with their advanced imaging technology, accurately map the atmosphere of our planet. The ozone layer is a blanket of gas that forms a protective covering of our earth, preventing the harmful sun-rays (termed as ultraviolet or UV rays). from reaching the earth. If the human body is directly exposed to UV rays, it can lead to diseaseskin cancer. The satellites picked up the damage to the ozone layer and scientists were able to find the cause and develop solutions to solve this problem before the damage became irreparable.

Moreover, aerial imagery of glaciers, revealed their melting at a rate faster than they are being replenished, due to rise in global average temperature. Glaciers supply fresh water to many rivers and millions of people rely on these rivers as their only source of potable water. If this continues, rivers would dry, causing widespread famines. Thus, timely discovery of this problem has enabled researchers to bring this to the public attention, which forced many governments to enact laws to curb pollution.

Another reason that makes space exploration necessary is because satellites are able to map the demographic of the Earth from the higher altitudes very well. These help the organisations to map the migration patterns which can be used by the governments to maintain the availability of resources.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate the fact that investing financially in space exploration helps in solving the problems on the earth.Instead of considering it as a waste of money, it should be seen as instrument to help mankind.