You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic:

An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, the trend of studying through digital devices is common. Infact, in many education institutes; students are using such devices in their classrooms rather than books and assignments for the purpose of education. Although there are some advantages to this educational enhancement but the drawbacks of using tablets and laptops should also be not neglected.

To start with, lets look at the positive side of this aspect. Firstly, learning can become more fun and efficient through digital sources. These days, students are easily engaged with electronic gadgets, which gives the uses of tablets and laptops for studying an upper hand comparing to the use of printed materials. Furthermore, many software programs, for instance, are specially developed to provide education to children in a fun and interesting manner. Additionally, through this, many students develop good writing speed on keypads of laptops and use of softwares, which could be useful for their future prospects.

Nevertheless, there are some consequences of using such devices as well, especially in terms of children health. Those students, who are constantly engaging themselves to laptop screens can develop weakness in their eyes. Furthermore, many health specialists has warned that using bright screens for reading and learning is not only bad for their eyesight but also for their overall body development as well. For example, in a recent study, it has shown that those children, who were using laptops as a source of studying has insignificant brain developement as compared to the students who used printed material like books and articles. Therefore, using such sources for long terms has shown some negative points as well.

To conclude, the use of digital devices such as laptops and tablets can be useful but only if it used as additional source of education materials. Furthermore, printed resources such as books and assignments should not be taken away from classes as they are equally important too.