You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

Currently there is a contentious argument over whether the responsibility for financing and controlling scientific research should be fulfilled from the end of the government or the private organizations? Government organizations have a laid back work culture and sometime government employees lack focus and motivation. In this essay I will discuss that why I disagree that government should be responsible for funding and organizing research.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of rationale reasons that prove that the responsibility for funding and controlling scientific research should depend on private funding. Private organizations often have tough targets and strict work timings which allow them to remain more focused. Moreover, monetary incentives are often associated with the success of any private research so motivation towards innovation is much better. For instance, Tesla Pvt limited is a private organization headed by Elon Musk that has outperformed the government organizations within three years.

On the contrary, others argue that government organizations should shoulder the responsibility of handling the research sector as huge funding is required for conducting research which can only be provided by government funds. However, I believe that private organizations are profit based and thus large sum of money as well as future of the organization is at stake. This in itself acts as the motivation factor for private organizations for participating whole heartedly in research. Moreover, the government of a country has to handle more serious concerns in terms of financial budget rather than just concentrating on exploration work.

In conclusion, I believe that although certain government organizations are handling the research funding and controlling well but it is the private organizations that have come to the forefront in recent years. They are not only outperforming but are more focused and driven by motivation to succeed. Does the future of innovation lie with the hands of private organizations? Still remains a question.