You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people think that children would benefit if they attended nursery school before primary school, while others think that children should stay all day with their families.

Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Write at least 250 words.

Some make the pragmatic argument that children will get more benefits if they go to the nursery school before primary school, while the others believe that children should spend time with their parents during their formative years. In my opinion, there are more advantages than disadvantages to sending children to a nursery school.

There is no denying the fact that young children need the love and attention of their parents. This, however, does not mean that they should spend the whole day at home in the company of their parents and grandparents. Actually, the years between 3 and 5 are crucial for the development of a child. This is a great time for them to get exposed to the world outside their home. A nursery school is the perfect place for this. Most nursery schools operate for only 3 or 4 hours a day. So even if a child attends a nursery school he or she will still have plenty of time to stay with his or her parents. In other words, the nursery school will have no real impact on his or her emotional wellbeing or bonding with her parents.

At the same time, children can learn a lot of real-world skills from the nursery school. They get to play with several children of their age. This enhances their social and communication skills. Needless to say, children who attend a nursery school are more likely to be extroverts with a sociable nature. Children can also learn the alphabets and numerals at kindergarten. This knowledge will give them an edge over other kids who start school at 5 or 6.

Conversely, if young children spend all of their time at home without going to a nursery school, they will find it rather difficult to keep pace with their peers when they start primary school. They will take weeks or even months to get used to the new environment and by then their peers will be way ahead of them.