Young people are often influenced by their peers Do the advantages of peer pressure outweigh the disadvantages

In the current competitive society, teenagers are also constantly influenced by their colleagues. This essay will argue that disadvantages of peer pressure such as individuals giving up or becoming selfish, outweigh the advantages it may bring to the young generation.

There are obvious disadvantages of being under constant influence by colleagues. Firstly, peer pressure may result in unwanted competition within a particular group and this may encourage them to outperform each other in a good way or another. When the competition is high, they may lose the sense of humour and may develop selfishness or even rage. Moreover, when the peer pressure is too much, some individual may not be able to cope up with it, resulting them to abandon their activities. For example, a young student may not want to return to study if he is under enormous pressure from colleagues.

Those who oppose may say that peer pressure is a positive trend owing to the fact that it may encourage them to outperform others, making them better at what they are doing. For example, if they are studying, they would study harder to become top talented in the class. However, this would bring more harm than good as it deprecates human and moral qualities of young generation. Qualities such as being helpful to each other are more valuable for a better community.

To conclude, pressure from the peers may bring more drawbacks such as deprecating human qualities or making teenagers giving up what they are doing, compared to benefits such as encouraging them to outperform others.