younger than they are? Is it a good thing or a bad thing?

Aging is a biological process, and it is natural for every living thing to age. However, humans tend to defy the natural progression and try to look younger than their actual biological age. In fact, there are many reasons for this human quest and the effects of it can be both positive and negative on individuals and on our society in general.

One of the main reasons for the desire to look young is due the mindset of the youth. Today physical appearance is so important for an individual’s self-esteem, and it can also decide the social status which tends to create attitude that “young is beautiful” and hence the race to look young. Further, people don’t want to get old and hence attempt to hide the signs of aging by increasing physical workouts or take up yoga for example. This results in people to overcome aging along with they are getting healthier and hence positive.

On the other hand, men and women go under the knife to look younger. Resorting to surgical procedures and spending enormous amount of money is dangerous trend. People follow influencers or celebrities are pursue the false idea of beauty standards. For instance, youngsters equate nose job or butt lift to a dental cavity filling and have been several reported cases of death due to botched surgery. Hence it can be dangerous if people get too obsessed to look younger.

In conclusion, the obsession with looking young is mainly resulted from media pressure and unwillingness to adopt reality. Pernicious effects on health, waste of precious time and money are the reasons to deem it as a bad thing. In my opinion, it is important to understand that ageing is a natural process and accept the growing process that comes with aging.