10. University freshmen do not know much about university life and learning. There are two ways to help freshmen quickly enter university life, choose a method that you feel is better, and explain why.

1) attending a one-week orientation or introduction program before starting the classes

2) meeting regularly in your first year with a student in your major field who has attended the university for several years.

In South Korea, where the university education is largely different with the high school education system, proper information about the university life is greatly important to every freshmen of universities. Considering this factor of universities in Korea, this essay will argue in favor of the statement that university freshmen should acquire advises from their senior students and provide the rational reasons.

First of all, orientation or introduction program cannot provide sufficient information about the university’s programs to freshmen. This is because only one-week is too short to provide a number of information that students need. Also, because the orientation time is limited in the early of the semester of the first-year course, it cannot hold every aspects of the undergraduate program. Usually, most of undergraduate courses are consisted with 4-year courses, which greatly evolves as the students get higher courses. Therefore, sufficient information in every aspect of the courses is needed for the undergraduate students, and it is undoubted that only one-week course of the orientation cannot provide those of information.

Moreover, senior students can provide more helpful orientation to students who are freshmen, compared with the orientation. To be specific, orientation courses in the first semester tend to focus on formal information of the courses, such as academic information about the university’s faculty, which is not significant to students. By contrast, senior students who have the exceedingly useful information, such as the knowledge about the unknown standards of the university shcolarship, and the atmosphere of professors. By providing those of information greatly useful in the real-life at the university, it will help the fast adaptation of the freshmen students to the university environment.

In a nutshell, compared with the simple orientations that takes about a week, information from the senior students is more helpful to the university freshmen. Therefore, university have to focus on constructing the system that senior and freshmen students can interact each other easily; this will bring positive impacts on development of their students’ academic ability intensely.