9. For schools, assessing teachers’ teaching efficiency is a very important issue. Is it better for other teachers to assess than let students assess teachers?

Recently, many public teachers in the South Korea are criticized for their poor teaching ability, which resulted the high proportion of the private education spending of parents in Korea. Therefore, the proper way to assess teachers in the field of education became one of the significant debates in South Korea. Considering this situation, this essay will argue that students’ assessments about their teachers have to

First of all, students are the only people who get lectures of their teachers. The most important factor in the assessment of teachers is the ability to make good lectures in the class. As students are the only people who get lectures from teachers, it can be concluded that they are the most important groups when teachers’ teaching abilities are measured. Also, students are the group that mostly influence by the teacher’s assessments, as it decides which teacher make lectures in their class. Even though it cannot be concluded that students’ assessments are highly objective, it will provide reasonable basis of teachers in our nation’s schools.

Moreover, if we let teachers assess their colleagues, the result of the assessment can be distorted for their own interests, especially in South Korea. In the Republic of Korea, many people consider their colleagues in their workplace as their family member; it comes from the East-Asian culture, which let great importance to unity in the communities. Therefore, many people do not want to assess their colleagues poorly and tend to make decisions that protect them; there are no exceptions in the educational field. If teachers are allowed to assess their colleagues, it will bring negative impacts on our nation’s education.

In a nutshell, assessments of students should be considered more important factor than those of teachers for two bases.