aa

Owing to the major role of universities in young people's lives in the modern world, the issues surrounding universities have become a matter of speculation and dispute. One of these controversial issues is whether universities should require students to take a public speaking course or not. As far as I am concerned, taking a public speaking course should not be a necessity in universities. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the requirement to pass a course on public speaking may discourage numerous students from attending the university. Due to the fact that the majority of students do not have an experience of speaking in front of a large audience, this course may seem frightening and worrying for them. Furthermore, a number of students, specifically introverted individuals, have public speaking anxiety. Thus, this requirement would serve as a discouragement for them. My own experience is a compelling example of this. As a freshman, I was a shy person and have even socializing problems. This fact has caused me to fall behind in courses in which presenting a lecture was required. had a public presentation course been required, I would not have been able to pass the course. So, I might have left the university at the first semesters.

The second noteworthy point to be mentioned is that it is not a good decision to make students spend their worthwhile time on an unnecessary course in which a skill is taught that can be developed by its own during the time. In other words, students will learn this skill while they are an undergraduate. Hence, it is better for students to devote this time to other significant subjects which are relevant to their major. For instance, the university can offer a course to teach students how to deal with an advanced, professional software, or how to write an academic paper, instead of this course. My experience demonstrates this clearly. The time when I got accepted for a graduate degree, I did not have any problem with public speaking anymore. In fact, my problems had been solved during my bachelor study. Therefore, there was no need for such a course to help me develop my public speaking skill.

in conclusion, I firmly believe that public speaking course should not be a requirement at universities. This is because it may discourage some students to continue their education, and because it wastes their precious time.