The ability to adapt or adjust to the changing condition is more important than excellent knowledge in a job.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people think that excellent knowledge is more important than the ability to adapt or adjust to the changing condition in a job. However, I think the capability of adaptation or adjustment to changing condition is more critical than knowledge. So, I agree with the statement for three reasons.

First of all, reputation plays an important role for workers in a job, and the ability to adjust to the changing condition can help workers gain a higher reputation. For example, when I was a research assistant at Academia Sinica, I usually help professor do the project on lithium batteries with some researchers. To be more specific, I usually adjusted the experimental parameters based on the different environments, such as moisture or concentration, and the experimental result was great frequently. Therefore, I was respected by my coworkers due to my ability to adjust. However, if I only had the knowledge but no adjustment, my experiment would not succeed and I might be looked down by other people. Apparently, the ability to adjust is important in a job.

Secondly, confidence also plays a vital role for people in a work, and the capability to adapt to this kind of condition can allow people to obtain a sense of achievement. For example, my friend, Mike, an engineer at TSMC, worked in a stressful environment. Furthermore, he also met a lot of different situations, such as the clients’ complaints or sudden presentations to his boss, but he adapted to the stressful environment fastly and solved these problems well. As a result, he gained a sense of accomplishment from his work. Yet, if Mike only had excellent knowledge in the work, he might feel pressure on interacting with annoyed clients and bosses and lose his confidence. Obviously, the ability to adapt can help people build confidence.

Promotion plays a crucial role for people in the company, and the ability to adjust to the changing condition can provide people with more chances to promote. Take my father as an instance, when my father was an engineer at ASML 10 years ago, he solved a lot of problems with the ability. To be more specific, under any awful circumstances, he can adjust the unfunctional parts on the instruments immediately and produce walfers flawlessly. Consequently, he was promoted to manager after working only for one year. Nonetheless, if my father only had knowledge of instruments, he might only indicate the theories but not understand how to operate the machines when the changing parameters of machines happened. Hence, the ability to adjust is more vital than knowledge.

In conclusion, I think that prestige, confidence, and promotion are important for me. Therefore, I agree that the ability to adapt or adjust on the changing condition is more vital than excellent knowledge in a job.