Advertisements

In the era of global business world, various different types of companies are competing with each other in order to gain popularity. For this purpose, they try to endorse their products through advertising so that they could make more and more people to buy their products. No doubt, advertisements are indispensable part of marketing. In this regard, some people believe that advertising is very helpful and improves their lives, while others think advertisements do not really supply any advantage to them. I concur with the second statement, because I think that most of the advertisements do not really offers much truthful information and manipulates the customers.

To begin with, the main reason why advertisements are not very helpful is that commercial often make false claims or tell misleading information. They only let you know enough information to get you buy the products. So, it is not a good idea to believe everything that is being shown. My mother’s recent experience is a good case in point, she saw a commercial of cooking knives that cut meat just like soft butter. But as she received the knives through mail, she found that knives had not been sharpened at all. The advertisement didn’t mentioned that knives will be unsharpened.

Second, the frequency with which these advertises are being telecasted on televisions or whether touts on streets and salesperson trying to sell their products, all these are just trying to manipulate people to persuade them to buy their items. These seep deep into your mind and make you think that you really need to have that thing. For instance, when we go out for grocery shopping, sales person tries to make you buy new items, it may for its different flavor or packaging. As a result, we cannot resist the temptation and end up buying things that we do not really require. These advertisements try to manipulate our psychology and we all fall for these gimmicks turning into impulsive buyers.

In conclusion, I would reaffirm my opinion that these advertisements provides no good benefits to us rather they try to exploit us while endorsing their products and persuades us to buy unnecessary products by providing misleading information. Therefore, due to aforementioned reasons advertisements encourages us to buy things that we really do not need.