Agree or disagree? printed book or online material in doing research.

Nowadays, despite of the many disparities people have in different areas, one point that virtually everybody accords with is the importance of documents and its usage in research. Some people believe that the printed version of documents and books are better for conducting any researches while other people believe that the electronics version of them are more appropriate. Personally, I consent to the former belief and in ensuing paragraphs, I will provide two reason to support my vantage point.

The first reason coming my mind is that printed documents such as articles and books are more reliable than electronics documents. At the moment, due to popularity of internet and its widespread accessibility, everyone in the world has its own website. They broadcast whatever they desire without considering whether their published materials are correct or not. Citing to these materials can have a considerable number of negative impacts on someone who exploit from these materials carelessly. For example, in the last term of my bachelor's degree, I should collect a report on a specific topic in computer science course. It has been told us that we should gather experimental results and information released by other researchers in the world. In the process of gathering these required materials, I have found a website in which its author presented their own temporary experimental results not the final and verified ones. Without paying attention to this issue, I have cited to that website and included its information to my report. Those inaccurate results led to decrease my score in that course because my teacher figured out that wrong problems. This example shows us that why printed documents is more reliable than other resources.

The second reason worth mentioning is that printed documents provide information more in-depth than other documents. Printed books and documents are basically more longer than the electronics material. This is because authors of documents want their materials to be self-contained meaning that readers of materials no longer need to any extra documents. This is in contrast with online documents where their authors just provide the exact facts and details not side information. An example of my experience show that this is true. As a first year student at the University of Tehran, I have enrolled in course called Pattern Recognition. This course was a multi-disciplinary lesson which required a wide variety of information in majors such Linear Algebra, Optimization, Numerical Computing. Having explored internet, I could not find a resource covering all of the required materials in a pack. however, having consulting with my professors, I have been suggested a book including nearly all of the materials I needed to pass the course. This is where the importance of books in doing research is highlighted.

In conclusion, having considered above justifications, one can safely conclude that the printed documents for doing research is wiser. This is because they provide valid and correct information and because they present information about a topic in-depth.