Are people less happy now than before?

In general, the fast pace of life in the modern world changes all the aspects of people’s life. Basically, happiness and satisfaction depend on many factors which are so inconsistent or irregular nowadays that they make people less happy and less satisfied. This is why I strongly believe people in the past were far happier and much more content.

First of all, the modern economy changes so fast that it is too hard for businesses and people to adapt to it. Moreover, the changes which occur on a regular basis are not necessarily the good ones. In fact, they can cause a huge unemployement rate. This is the reason why nowadays people are less satisfied and less happy. In other words, because it is really hard to be joyful when there is no certainty in the future. For instance, one of my friends over the last year changed three workplaces because of hard economic conditions in his country.

Another reason why people are anxious is the changes in the political map of the world. In the last couple of decades, Big countries can come together and decide that a certain country is a global threat which can cause a global crisis. This kind of estimation can cause price changes, political and economic sanctions, wars, and so on. For instance, even a little possiblility of war in the Middle-East can cause drastic changes in oil prices, which will affect gas prices around the world. This, of course, cannot be satisfying for anyone.

One more reason which makes people unhappy is the global warming. This is directly caused by human activity and goes faster from year to year. Moreover, scientists have found out that it cannot be stopped in the near future, as it has already been causing causes certain climate changes. The consequences of the very climatic changes are obvious even now. Those are the constant increase in the number of storms, fires, hurricanes, drought, floods, and so on in the parts of the world where they never used to be observed. For instance, last year wildfires killed hundreds and destroyed thousands of houses in California. I think there has been no one in California who has been happy these days. Every moment, people expect something weird to show up in the nature.

All in all, the quickly changing world has recently been rather unstable and full of many dangers. This makes life in the modern world extremely stressful, which, in turn, leads to a low level of satisfaction and happiness.