Asteroids are large space objects made of rock and ice. There are hundreds of thousands of asteroids in our solar system. Though we often hear ideas about establishing colonies of humans to live and work on our Moon or our neighboring planet, Mars, some think that sending people to an asteroid would actually be the best colonization option for a number of reasons.

Low Gravity

To begin with, asteroids are often much smaller than planets, so they have lower gravity. When landing a spaceship, the craft would not be pulled as strongly or as forcefully toward the asteroid's surface, making the landing safer than landing on the Moon or Mars ; it would also allow a spacecraft to carry much more equipment needed to set up the colony. It would also be easier for the spacecraft to take off again, so the spaceship would need to carry considerably less fuel for the trip back to Earth.

Mining Valuable Metals

Next, some asteroids are rich in valuable elements and precious metals that are relatively rare on Earth, such as gold and platinum. An asteroid colony would be extremely profitable and a good source of these raw materials. The colonists or businesses sponsoring them could more than pay for the cost of their support by mining minerals and sending them back to Earth.

Easy to Reach

Finally, asteroids are a good option for colonization because some of them would be very easy to reach. There are a number of asteroids that periodically come within or near Earth's orbit. Some of them actually get closer to Earth than our Moon. So these asteroids would be much easier and more affordable to get to and get back from than a planet like Mars, which would require a two-year trip in each direction.

Both the reading and the lecture discess wether it is convenient to have colonies in the asteroid or not. The former argues that it is easy and profitable to have colonies in the asteroid but the later disprove all the argument given by the reading.

First of all , the author contends that low gravity of the astoroid will make it easier to the spaceship for landing and a lot of equipement can easily be carried to the asteroid from the earth. In contrast, the lecturer argues that low gravity will creats loosing in muscles as well as the calcium density in the boon statrs to decrease. he also adds that even a astronuts stay only for few months in the asteroid it will make a huge damage to his health.

Secondly, the reading asserts that, the asterios are full of precious metals and it will be a great ways to income a lot of money by making buisness of these metals in the earth. However, the professors rebuts that considering the cost of mining and transfering the metals to the earth it may not be very benificial. In addition, if the amount of the metals increase the price can be drcease and it will make them less profitable then it was think before.

Finally, the text claims that, since some of the asretoids often visite very

close

to the earth it is easy and cheap to have colony to them and get back to the earth. On the other hands, the lecture counters that, although some asteriod come very

to the earth their orbitals are not organized like the other planets so they also visite too far that make it become more challenging to return back to the earth. he further argues that, the asteroids doesn't stay

to the earth and travel such a distance that made it very costly to return back.