Celebrities (such as actors, musicians and athletes, etc.) sometimes express their political views in public. Some people appreciate knowing the political views of celebrities, others think it is not appropriate or useful to know the political views of celebrities. Which opinion do you agree with?

Nowadays, people listen more and more to famous people in certain area such as art, music or sport. These so-called celebrities have the potential to guide societies to a worse or perhaps a better paths. In this matter, while some people believe that political views of such people should be kept to themselves, other believe that expressing these ideas can be pretty useful. Personally speaking, I subscribe to the former view. I have several reasons for my belief which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, Information provided by celebrities is, by and large, misleading. To be specific, with vast specialization and improvement of human knowledge in general, more and more experts are available in each major. Especially, in the case of politicial views, students put many hours of effort to gain a valuable insight to comprehend their materials and courseworks. Hence, this helps them to understand which side they should be on in every political argument. However, in case of non-aware celebrities, who perhaps decided about the subject based on their feelings rather than objective reasoning, this is completely the opposite; consequently, they will provide the society with wrong information which may lead to more drastic outcomes in the long run.

Furthermore, expressing politicial views is not good for celebrities either. To explain more, people are somehow divided in political matters, each believing one idea or another. Everyone thinks they are more near to the ground truth; as a result, when they figure out the arguments of differenet side, they would become hostile to the very person rather than listening to their points of view objectively. This is since we are not taught appropriate skills in schools and uninversities, instead focusing on irrelevant compulsary coursework. With this in mind, people who do not have the right skills develop a sense of hatred toward everyone who does not agree with them. Celebrities are no exception to this. Ultimately with saying their political views in the public, they risk their income and also their life since most of their income indirectly comes from their fans.

In sum, with all these takes into account, I do believe that stating political views for celebrities is not a wise choice on the ground that it leads people to take a wrong path and also it is extremely bad for their publicity.