Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One can learn about another person from the books and movies that the person likes.

Nowadays, it is becoming increasingly critical to know people we somehow relate to, whether in business or family issues. When it comes to people's personalities, some argue that we can know different characteristics of each person by finding out which movies and books intrigues them, while others claim the opposite. Personally, I subscribe to the idea that we can, to some extent, know essential personality traits that help us regulate our behavior toward them. That will make us look more professional.

First and foremost, by looking at people they fan in movies or books like heros, we might get to know what personality types they like the most and, consequently, figure out their personality. This is due to the proven fact that people tend to like the ones most similar to them. As an example, when I hear that someone adores Jennifer Lopez but has not even heard about Mother Teresa, I come to the conclusion that this person is not interested in philosophy or the meaning of life and therefore can not be categorized as a Thinker personality that we have long known in psychology.

Second, by just looking at the title of movies or books they watch or read, we can figure out whether they are going to succeed or not. Specifically, if they tend to spend most of their leisure time reading high-quality books, I would undoubtedly put more weight on their probability of success than those who just study for fun. Also, the experience has taught me that people who concentrate their effort on meaningful goals will eventually reap its fruit. For instance, in my first year of college, I had a friend who did not waste any time so as to be able to finish his books on schedule. At that time, we constantly laughed and made fun of him; however, with the passage of time, he became one of the most well-known architects in town by just investing enough time in quality books.

Third, if that person does not watch documentaries on health, I will take that as a sign that they are probably not having a healthy lifestyle. This is because if anyone cares about any arbitrary subject, they would certainly study about it and one of the most important ways to get to know state-of-the-art lifestyle habits is by watching documentaries, many of which are the result of thousands of hours of study of scientists. How on earth can anyone know about incorporating nutritious meals and regulating fast food intake by not even watching a single documentary?

In summary, with all this taken into account, I agree that we can predict people's success, lifestyle, or even type of personality by understanding what they read or watch mostly.