-Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One can learn about another person from the books and movies that the person likes.

It goes without saying that there are various points of view about judging people’s personality from their favorite movies and books. In this line of thought, there has always been a controversial question, whether it is appropriate to learn about human’s character by the movies and books that he likes or not. Some people believe that people are what they soul consumes, while others hold the opposite opinion, stating that loving a show or a writing does not present an individual’s internal beliefs. I personally concur with the latter group due to a couple of reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

The first exquisite to be mentioned is that movies and books are part of a person’s hobbies, which he enjoys during his spare time. In the other words, the materials that people use to take a short break from their hectic life and feel relieved don’t represent their character. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. I love comedy-romantic films, specially after a long term of busyness and hard work because they can distract me for a while from my daily chores. while, on a normal day, if I have to choose something to watch, I would prefer Si-fi genre. As a result, my personal choices not only don’t show my taste, but also the highly depend on my mood. For this reason, I believe a human being’s behavior has nothing to do with his movie or book taste.

Another equally noteworthy point corroborating my stance is that the modern society’s trend has a significant influence on people’s choices. In fact in the contemporary era and with the assistance of social media, everyone can easily impressed by the online critics and to go with the flow, people claim that they love a movie. Drawing from my own experience, when I was in middle school all my classmates love the twilight saga movie, just because I wanted to be a part of them, even though I did not even watch it, I presented myself as a huge fan. It is certainly clear to see why movies can not talk about you.

To sum up, taking all aforementioned reasons and points into account, one can rationally conclude is that movies and books might affect someone’s character, but they don’t represent the watcher’s and reader’s disposition. This is because in this way, you miss not only the point of leisure hobbits but also the societies pressure on choosing a hardcover or a film.