Children these days behave more impolitely than children fifty years ago.

Some people claim that children nowadays are acting more terribly than children fifty years ago, while others think the opposite. As for me, I believe that children these days are behaving badly due to three reasons mentioned below.

To begin with, children nowadays are taught the importance of critical thinking, so they will act more rudely than children in the past. To be more specific, my niece once shouted at my aunt for forcing him to wear female uniforms to school because she considered herself to be a man. Similarly, my nephew also refused to wear uniforms because he thought that wearing them violates freedom of expression. As a result, my uncle and aunt always tell me that their kids are recalcitrant. On the other hand, children in the past are taught to obey authorities, so my father could not criticize his teachers or principals if the school told him to wear uniforms. Evidently, children these days think more critically than kids in the past.

In addition, children these days care more about reputation, which means that they would act impolitely to defend their reputation. Take my professor's son as an example. My professor's son once got a C on his math final exam, and my professor scolded him for not studying hard. Nonetheless, his son broke down and yelled back at his parents for portraying him as an unintelligent person. Moreover, he even questioned whether his parents like him or not. Contrarily, my grandfather always condemned my father for getting A- on his English test, but my father ignored their criticism all the time because he didn't think it is a big deal. Apparently, kids nowadays indeed care more about getting a favorable image than kids born in the 1970s.

Last but not least, modern young people place more emphasis on friendship than parental relationships, so they will undoubtedly behave more impolite to their parents. For example, my friend's daughter made several friends in her school, so she tends to believe whatever her friends said and choose to ignore her parents. To be more specific, my friend once told her not to eat pizza dropped onto the ground, but she dismissed my friend and yelled at him that food accidentally dropped on the ground for less than 5 seconds is still edible, all because her friends said so. Nonetheless, my aunt listened to every sentence that my grandmother said. Thus, whenever she dropped her food unintentionally, she did not pick it up and eat it. Obviously, kids in the past indeed listen to their parents more, but kids nowadays pay more attention to their friends.

In conclusion, I maintain that children these days indeed behave more horribly than children years ago. After all, kids these days care more about critical thinking, reputation, as well as their friendship.