Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Nowadays, it is better for children to grow up in the countryside than in a large city. Use specific reasons and examples to develop your essay.

Most people think that raising children in the rural areas is better than in a larger city. However, I personally believe that it would be wiser for children growing up in a big city. There are several reasons why I feel this way, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, living in a big city, children will be full of opportunities for going to prestigious schools and having more chances to find a decent job. Due to abundant resources, talented teachers usually will come to a big city to teach. And because of the high quality of schools and teachers, students will choose to study in a big city. What is more, there are plenty of job opportunities in a big city where people can get any occupation they want. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I grew up in Taipei City, a Capital City of Taiwan, where is full of learning resources for either tutoring or outstanding schools. When I was little, I was tutored by an extraordinary American teacher, and I gained my English ability which helped me get high scores in every English test and even helped me to enter a good university. Furthermore, after I graduated from college, there were numerous jobs for me to apply for. I found my first job only within two weeks. Even though I changed my occupation in the next year, I could still find a new job very soon because there are many job openings in Taipei.

Growing in the countryside will miss a lot of opportunities for choosing a better school or jobs. Lack of funds and resources, not only teachers are not willing to teach in rural areas but also companies are reluctant to open a branch here. For example, my cousin Amy, she was raised in the countryside, she was diligent in studying and always went to the best schools in the countryside. However, when she met foreigners in her hometown, she could not converse with foreigners in English because her teacher only taught her how to memorize vocabularies. What was worse, when she graduated from the university, she could not find any decent job, and eventually she came to Taipei. Now, she has a high-paying job in Taipei, and decided to raise her kids in Taipei in the future.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that growing up in a big city is a better choice for children. This is because of better education resources and numerous job opportunities.