Community

Communication and the emergence of new technologies in the 21st century isso much altered in comparison with the past, in a way that the society and economy are impacted by these changes. Nobody can cast a shadow of doubt that the advent of televisions has had a prime significance in our daily lives. However people are divided into two groups when it comes to their thoughts about this technology; some believe that it has more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave while others refuse to believe so. I personally claim that there are more positive effects regarding the television than negative ones and this esaaywill further discuss my reasons and examples of this decision.

First of all, I believe that television area vitality for the youth and everyone else, because it's a way for them to be entertained. By means of watching TV, almost all the people can enjoy their spare time by either seeing their favorite movie, laugh to a nice soap opera, or even enjoy a nice footbalmatch on a saturdayevening. For example, if it weren't for televisions, I wouldn't even know how I would spend my time during afternoons when I come back from university. I always watch a TV series which airs on 2:00 pm every weekday and I've never missed a day of seeing it, because it's so amusing and entertaining for me to watch. As a result, that's why I suggest that TVs have had many favorable effects for people by entertaining them.

Second, in my opinion, in the era of communication, it is a nec

cessity to be up-to-date with all the news which is going on in the world. The wars,elections, droughts and storms, and many other natural or human-based activities that occur in the world, should be of paramount importance to everyone, and they should be able to be informed about them. TVs have a massive contribution in this matter. For instance, my father had once booked a flight to Istanbul on a winter day. The weather was very cold and the snow had just begun to drop down from the sky before it suddenly got intensified and the situation turned into a drastic chaos. Thanks to the news, my father and I understood that all the flights going out of Tehran's airport were cancelled due to the adverse weather conditions. This not only led us to understand a fact, but also caused my father to save a lot of his time and not go all the way to the airport. On that account, the news which is brought to our homes thanks to the existence of televisions, is another positive aspect of this technology.

Last but not least, televisions have a very helpful effect for businesses and even governments by showing advertisements. Thanks to these ads, which we typically see a lot on TV, companies could better sell their products,small businesses could flourish, and even governments and political faces, especially in the time of elections, could better connect to their fellow voters and supporters and therefore thrive their voting numbers dramatically. To give an example about the impacts of TV ads on businesses, let me share a story that I read in a newspaper a while a go. According to the given statistics, an Iranian company, which is a big name in the juice and jam production, made almost 70 percent of its sales from TV advertisements alone. That is a huge number; thus, we have to give account for the positive effect of this technology on businesses and governments.

To sum it up, we can now understand why televisions have a positive effect on the society and how they contribute to our daily lives by producing usentertainment, providing the news for us, and helping businesses flourish and prosper. That is why I am a strong supporter of TVs and seriuosly believe thatit will still remain to be an important part of our lives.