Traditions are defined as customary or established ways of

doing things in a family, community, or culture. Some people

believe that it is important to follow traditions even when those

traditions conflict with or are quite different from their own

individual preferences. Other people believe that individual

preferences are more important than traditions. Which view do

you agree with, and why?

one of the frequently discussed questions in the modern society is whether traditions that run contrary to personal preferences should be abandoned or kept. Regarding this issue, I believe that priority should be given to individual preferences as opposed to traditions.

In the first place, many traditions greatly undermine the values that are consistent with the progress of the modern society, so keeping these traditions could be harmful to the modern society. consider the example of china in the ancient past. In the ancient china, there was a well-kept tradition that women should never receive any forms of education, whether formal or informal. But education can provide people, regardless of gender, with the values, skills, and insights that can equip them to build a better world. Today we have lots of talented females who are well-educated and make contributions to the world: there are always a large number of famous female politicians, scientists and businesswomen that one can think of. therefore, lots of female talents who should have played an important role in the development of china had been lost in the long river history. Obviously, if we keep this ridiculous tradition, the world will see the loss of talented females. In addition, it undermines the value that people, regardless of gender, should be equal and deserve the same rights and that women should never be deprived of the right to receive proper education.

Another consideration is that many old-fashioned traditions might greatly harm the well-beings of citizens and the whole society. one old-fashioned tradition that can easily come to one’s mind is shaking hands. it is a good way to show respect and to strengthen the bond as well. unfortunately, in recent years, the worldwide pandemic of the coronavirus renders this traditional undesired or even harmful. this is because one major channel of the disease is the skin contact and this tradition, if kept, would lead to more and more transmissions and contribute to the prevalence of the disease. therefore, to better contain the disease and control the situation, citizens should be required to abandon this tradition despite its long history. one can also consider the tradition of burning paper bags to mourn for their deceased family members, kept in some parts of Japan and china. unfortunately, this tradition consumes a staggering amount of paper and emits a considerable amount of toxic gas that can seriously pollute the air and play a role in global warming. As a matter of fact, a large number of citizens were developing respiratory diseases as victims of terrible air conditions in modern society. therefore, for environmental concerns, the tradition should be abandoned however big the lure is.

These considerations, presented as above, can be taken into account to support the view that we should abandon traditions for individual preferences.