In some countries, students do not pay any tuition to attend universities. However, in other countries, students must pay to attend universities, and the cost of university tuition can be very high. Therefore, some people believe that all the nations should use taxes to fund universities so that they could offer free university education to any student. What is your opinion?

The funding of education has always been one of the most debated questions in the society. Regarding whether government should use tax to support a tuition-free education for college students, some people hold a negative view and believe that college education should be financed by students themselves and their families. however, as far as I am concerned, government should spend a portion of the taxes on providing free college education to students. The reasons are as follows.

First of all, education is one of them most important sectors for government to invest on. The prosperity and the development of a nation depend on a large talent pool, and it is only through college education that the nation can cultivate a large number of qualified talents in technology, business, politics, culture, and so on. if students attend college at their own expenses, students coming from low-income families will probably feel it a big financial burden to receive college education. Facing great financial pressure, some of them may opt to go to work instead of going to school. On the contrary, if university education is made free to all students, then every student will be able to go to college without worrying about ever-rising education costs, and the free college education empowers people with the knowledge, skills and values they need to build a better country and world. take japan as an example. Before the Meiji reform, japan was an underdeveloped agricultural country with only a few educated people. however, after the reform, especially after the 1895 Sino-Japanese war, the Japanese government invested a large amount of money, close to 5 percent of the government revenue, on building schools and training intellectuals. As a result, japan quickly rose to one of the world’s great powers due to its emphasis on education,. therefore, the future profits generated by such investments on education far outweigh the costs.

In addition, spending taxes on university education will substantially reduce the burdens of many students and families. Nowadays university education can be quite expensive, sometimes costing almost 5 years’ of the total income of a family. without any financial support from the government, many students may need to work part time to continue their study despite being smart enough to get into college. Under these circumstances, their part-time job will take away from time that could be spent in learning or having a good rest, and even worse. after graduation many fresh graduates even have to pay off the student loan they took back in college. I have a friend who comes from a poverty-stricken family in the united states. His family only receives an annual salary of 10000 dollars or so, yet the annual cost attendance of university is about three times the income of his family. therefore, he has to take loans and work on weekends to pay off the debts he ran up. As a result, he couldn’t concentrate well on his study. Had he enjoyed a free college education, the burden on him would have been greatly alleviated and he would have better focused on his study without considering the attendence costs a huge burden. even worse, there are also many other students who simply drop out of school because they cannot afford university education. if government can use a small portion of the taxes to fund university students' education, then higher education will be a privilegethat all citizens have an opportunity to take advantage of, regardless of their financial situations.

Admittedly, some people may argue that taxes should be used on other more important sectors such as national defense, manufacturing, or healthcare. however, the investments on education can only be described as “minimal” compared to these sectors. take the united states of america for example. if the federal government use only one fifth of the budget of the national defense sector on education, then all the students in the united states of america can enjoy a free college education and the country’s development can be greatly accelerated.

therefore, I firmly believe government should use tax to fully support a tuition-free college education because a free university education will alleviate students' financial burdens and contribute to the country's competitiveness in the long-run.