Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the prevalence of quality-oriented education, more and more people believe that schools should teach not only knowledge but also interpersonal skills to prepare students for society. while some may insist that students should focus solely on their academic performances as these are their primary responsibility, I agree with the statement that sports and social activities are of equal importance as classes and libraries and should be granted equal financial support.

However, some dissenters may declare that the university students should prioritize their academic work. Since these students have strenuous tasks to complete in order to fulfill their units to graduate, they should not be distracted by sports or social activities. although it is undeniably true that academics are important, I maintain that sports and social activities are just as important. this is because university students would not be able to flourish in the society with professional knowledge only, and sports and social activities can equip them with necessary physical conditions and soft skills to better prepare them for society. hence, sports and social activities are just as important and should be invested as much as classes and libraries.

First of all, the significance of sports and social activities is demonstrated in improving students’ physical and mental health. In today’s increasingly competitive society, students are usually under tremendous pressure from their academies. In this sense, sports and social activities offer an opportunity for students to engage in exercise and socialization, which help to relieve their stress and anxiety. As such, students can return to their work rejuvenated and can better concentrate on their tasks, hence achieving higher productivity. For example, my roommate, Anna, always goes to the gym in our campus after a day’s lectures, and she feels that exercising makes her mind clearer and helps her to study more efficiently. therefore, I believe that sports and social activities are an indispensable part of university students’ life and should receive equal financial support as classes and libraries.

Besides, sports and social activities are important in the sense that they equip university students with essential soft skills. while engaging in team sports or socialization, students will inevitably interact with other people. In the process of interactions, students will unconsciously sharpen their soft skills, such as communication and cooperation skills, for the realization of higher communication efficiency. these skills are extremely important for university students as these skills can enhance their performances in their job interviews and increase their competitiveness to a great extent. For instance, my cousin John used to be the captain of the football team in his university. this experience shaped his leadership characters which later deeply impressed his interviewees and made him a desirable job applicant to a few companies. this exemplifies the significance of sports and social activities in aiding university students’ personal development and improving their prospects, and they should receive equal financial support as classes and libraries.

In conclusion, although classes and libraries are of undeniable importance to university students, sports and social activities are also as important for they help to enhance students’ health and develop students’ soft skills. therefore, the investment in sports and social activities should be increased to the same standard as classes and libraries. Hopefully, with the quality-oriented education, more university students can become all-round talents and flourish in today’s society.