TPO52 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Debate rages over the increased strictness of rules for young people in modern society. From my perspective, whether these rules for youngsters are too strict is not a simple yes-or-no question. On the contrary, this issue should be analyzed on a case-by-case basis and the definitions of two abstract terms (i.e., societies and rules) should be given too.

In terms of schooling, young people nowadays indeed have to follow and obey some strict rules. A good example involves applying for a university abroad. In fact, if an average high school student wants to be admitted to a prestigious university abroad, he or she must make great efforts and go through a lot of processes. Specifically, students have to write their application letters, prepare their detailed personal statements and must achieve high scores in standardized language tests such as TOEFL and IELTS. Even if they do score high enough, these test-takers still need to confront more academic challenges like SAT or GRE, not to mention other societal expectations (academic or non-academic) they should live up to. these are the rigid rules for those young applicants: they have to do much more to gain a competitive edge, or face the fate of being rejected by their dream schools because of one missing link.

On the other hand, I do not find the rules aforementioned too strict. By that I mean these rules are necessarily and rightfully so. The reason is simple: without these strict rules, teenagers will never be able to meet the relevant standard or grow into well-rounded individuals. these rules aim to knock young, promising learners into shape. Hypothetically, if one student did not have good language, academic, or life skills, he or she might end up being isolated and lagging behind in a foreign environment. In this case, these stringent rules that young people should follow are indispensable, thereby enabling young people to have what it takes to further their study or their development.

In conclusion, despite the rigor of some social rules, they are largely well-intentioned and well-justified