A company wants to use money to help employees work better. One way is to improve the technology equipment (computers, printers) used by employees and improve efficiency. Another way is to redesign the space to make the working environment more comfortable and have more meeting rooms for discussion. Which way do you recommend? Why?

Nowadays, the development of employees’ efficiency has become the main goal of all companies and different strategies have been proposed. While there are some people maintaining that improving the technology devices has played a crucial role in increasing efficiency, there are others holding the view that changing the environment’s design is the best way to reach the goal. As far as I am concerned, redesign the space is the best strategy to improve employees’ productivity in that not only has it direct effects on people’s mood but also it can increase people’s health.

The first reason which should be stated here is that people’s mood can change their efficiency considerably. Redesign the space of the company will have effectss on their moods. For instance, by using some colors such as blue and green in the new environment people feel calm. Moreover, with using an air-conditioned and providing enough light, employees feel fresh. Therefore, their productivity will increase astoundingly. An experiment was done in the factories, researchers found that changing the light influenced the employee’s efficiency. When plenty of light bulbs were provided, a company could produce 50 goods in each hour. However, when the number of light bulbs decreases, it was just 30 comedies in each hour.

Furthermore, the decoration of the environment influences employees' mental and physical health. To begin with, using comfortable furniture can develop people’s productivity. For example, when a clerk has a comfortable chair that is compatible with his agronomy, he feels better and his productivity will increase. Besides, it hinders some physical pain. In addition, the decoration of the space can improve people’s concentration. As a result, they can use all of their potential in the workplace. Take the case of a clerk who has to work in a messy space. The disordered environment can distract him easily, and noises in the space do not let him concentrate on his duties. Thus, his efficiency will decline.

To summarize, redesigning the environment is an efficient method to improve employees’ productivity in that space will affect people’s mood and their health. It is highly recommended that companies provide the necessary facilities for their employees to improve the quality of their performance.